every child. every day.

School Nurses Logo with happy children.

            Meet Our Nurses

Rachel Alcantara, RN
Lead Nurse

South Elementary
704-658-2653

ralcantara@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Shannon Stone, RN

Park View Elementary
704-658-2563

sstone@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Ashley Schaen, RN

Rocky River Elementary
704-658-2744

ashleyschaen@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Brenda Austin-Johnson, RN

East Mooresville Intermediate
704-658-2712

bajohnson@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Megan Simpson, RN

Mooresville Intermediate
704-658-2690

msimpson@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Dana Annas, RN

Mooresville Middle School
704-658-2733

dannas@mgsd.k12.nc.us


Ashley Clinard, RN

Mooresville High School
704-658-2583

Magnolia Campus
704-658-2615

NF Woods/MIWAYE
704-658-2500

aclinard@mgsd.k12.nc.us


 

Health Services

A student’s health is important to his or her success in school. Mooresville Graded School District employs six school nurses who provide services to minimize health conditions that impede learning.  School nursing, a specialized practice of public health nursing, protects and promotes student health, facilitates normal development, and advances academic success. School nurses, grounded in ethical and evidence-based practice, are the leaders that bridge health care and education, provide care coordination, advocate for quality student-centered care, and collaborate to design systems that allow individuals and communities to develop their full potentials.  At MGSD, our school health services include:

  • Screening, assessment, identification, and planning for the care, safety, and ongoing evaluation of students with health care needs
  • Referrals to community resources
  • Consultation with parents and physicians about health conditions
  • Health teaching and counseling for students
  • Consultation with administrators and staff regarding health-related activities at school such as health room procedures, medication administration, medically authorized procedures, and communicable disease control.